A Peek at the Hidden Underbelly of Election Propaganda

People are still dissecting how and why Romney lost the election, but I have been convinced for some time that covert persuasion techniques with Obama's campaigns have played a far more important role than credited. I have been studying this stuff for a few years now and I see what I see.

People on our side find it hard to believe, though. Oh... they believe folks try to use hidden persuasion, they just don't believe it is effective. There's a cognitive bias involved. If people admit that a candidate uses this stuff and it helps him win an election, they are indirectly admitting that this stuff works on them. And nobody likes to admit this.

We have a thread on OL where some of this stuff was discussed: O'bama's Oratorical Style Employs Hypnotic Induction From NLP. There are a few other places, too.

Now, how about an article in NYT giving some actual names of people who were hired by Obama to engineer consent this time around?

Academic ‘Dream Team’ Helped Obama’s Effort

By Benedict Carey

November 12, 2012

New York Times

From the article:

Late last year Matthew Barzun, an official with the Obama campaign, called Craig Fox, a psychologist in Los Angeles, and invited him to a political planning meeting in Chicago, according to two people who attended the session.

“He said, ‘Bring the whole group; let’s hear what you have to say,’ ” recalled Dr. Fox, a behavioral economist at the University of California, Los Angeles.

So began an effort by a team of social scientists to help their favored candidate in the 2012 presidential election.

. . .